[file not found]

[file not found] as I rack my brain.

What did I name it? [search: |]

the blinking cursor still  flashes.

 

[error: 404] WHAT? That can’t be

I know it’s there. [webpage moved]

I don’t think SO. Type S-L-O-W-E-R

 

[voice command unavailable] ugh!

Speak slower, type slower. [restart Y/N]

No. What I really want is to shout at YOU.

 

[errors are personal] my hubby disagrees.

He says they are just glitches. Hiccups.

[entry not understood, retry? Y/N]

 

It FEELS personal. Something simple. But no.

[waiting for network response] tap. tap. TAP.

I wonder, will they roll their eyes at us? [o-o]

 

[file not found] and then the keys slow down.

The search becomes ablzlhd123 instead.

Type slower. Mouth out the letters. S-L-O-W

 

[search results: 500] ugh. *.* that sucker. Ha!

[unable to open file, source location changed]

Don’t break the electronics. Don’t break the…

 

Okay Plug in external hard drive. [new device]

oh…no…[format new device?] NO! NO! unplug

Plug back in. [browse folders on external drive?]

 

Browsing folders. Files. Searching. Finding.

[file not found] no it is not. BUT look! At THIS!

Old photos, old poems, old treasures. Found.

 

[file not found] is sometimes okay. Just fine.

[save over previous document?] No. Leave it.

Found what I wanted? No. Found what I needed!

 

This is my form, I came up with it a while ago – you can read a couple more in it here: https://sunflowershan.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/error-cannot-post-comment/ and https://sunflowershan.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/enter-title-here/

 

Gay has us thinking about inventing a form all our own at dVerse. This is my form. It doesn’t have a true name yet, maybe [message] form would work?  It takes the messages we get during our day from electronics and other devices and incorporates them into poetry. They become more and can add depth to our musings. Stop by and read the other amazing poets who shared on this.

8 Comments

  1. April 12, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    A very interesting form… and well suited with today’s lifestyle.
    I well know of that frustration when you are not able to browse and find something that you are looking for… but you found what you needed, and that is a great thing. 🙂

  2. Grace said,

    April 12, 2014 at 6:06 pm

    I hate computer glitches & issues ~ My hubby puts our files in the clouds as well as all the pictures ~ Interesting form & theme too Shanyn ~

  3. April 12, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    Your poem was exceptionally clever and you used your own concept very well. I think we can all find the truth of our separate lives in your lines. I certainly did. Yes, this could be taken from birthday cards or Christmas card notes, old letters as well as computer buzz-ins. Very smart, Shanyn. Hope all is going well with you. Sorry I’m late to read. Busy couple of days! Thank you!

  4. Bryan Ens said,

    April 12, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Cool idea! Almost like a dialogue with your computer. 🙂

  5. brian miller said,

    April 12, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    ha. what a fun and creative play…i need to pay a bit more attention to what my machines are telling me…maybe i can give this a try….smiles.

  6. lynndiane said,

    April 13, 2014 at 2:30 am

    i like your new “form”, Shanyn, though we don’t always like the messages our computers spew forth (i take it personally too)!

  7. rmp said,

    April 13, 2014 at 2:40 am

    oh, the messages electronics share during the course of a day can fill books. I think everyone at one point or another wants to yell, scream, and kick the pesky devices.

    the form you have created is quite nice and the battle between you and the computer quite entertaining.


Leave a Reply

