Call her Willow

I

If I was to be a tree,

What tree would I be?

So many to find. To see.

 

A stately pine.

Would be so fine.

Green all the time.

….

what I really want to say is…

If a tree is what I had to be.

Then a willow would be me.

….

II

Willow, spirit tree. Woman tree.

Bitter bark that eases pain.

Silvery leaves a dancing shade.

She bends in strong winds.

Breaking only builds her up.

Roots reaching to water.

Holding on to life held dear.

Each fallen branch grows tall.

Willow family a rainbow!

Red, scrub, silver and more.

Willow shades and shelters.

Willow dances in a storm.

Growing in drought and flood.

She keeps rooted deep. Steady.

If I am not a willow then maybe

may faith can be like a willow.

Strong and flexible. Healing.

Able to grow in adversity.

Sheltering. Strongly caring.

Rest here. I’ll shade you.

Cover you. Feed you.

Shining a shimmery bright

a faith light maybe to see?

No city on a hill, but in a

forest of darkness some light.

Reflecting Light. Reaching

deep roots down to Holy

Water and drinking deep.

Staying strong. Resting.

Bending and in the places

where breaks come being

stronger there. Stronger.

Faith like a willow!

 

Abhra has us considering not just the noble tree but actually poetically seeing ourselves as trees.  I have no trees out my window today at work but I know they are there. And I love them all!  Come by dVerse and share your thoughts, poetry and love with those other poets who are so bravely and wonderfully sharing their words with us!

38 Comments

  1. Abhra Pal said,

    May 6, 2014 at 10:34 pm

    Nice – I have never heart the usage of woman tree – and in this one you have nicely brought up the metaphor and it connects really deep.

    • shanyns said,

      May 6, 2014 at 10:36 pm

      Thanks! In Native cultures Willow is a feminine tree, and in others like Bardic traditions they have powers like those of the Oak for artists (poets, bards and musicians). Me, I just love willow trees! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it.

  2. brian miller said,

    May 6, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    bends in strong winds and breaking only build her up…makes her stronger…i could connect with that as well…i like the connections you make with the tree…and cool ont he native american view of the trees as well…i did not know that…

    • shanyns said,

      May 6, 2014 at 10:40 pm

      Thanks Brian! 🙂 Glad you liked this. I think we need more people to be like trees – oh dang I should have written about Ents! 😀

  3. Grace said,

    May 7, 2014 at 12:23 am

    I like the willow trees very much ~ We have some along the park trails & I’m always awed by their roots, height and strength ~ Wonderful choice Shanyn ~

  4. May 7, 2014 at 1:25 am

    I really love the way you picked up momentum in the description, it just kept getting more vivid and beautiful. Thankks so much, tonight was a good night to right a poem. Well, then every night is, but having just returned from an afternoon walk, and pondering trees…it was poetic justice. 😉

  5. Madhura said,

    May 7, 2014 at 3:19 am

    I love the connection of a willow with a woman, and that of faith like a willow… The description is beautiful… willow trees are wonderful… 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      May 7, 2014 at 9:08 pm

      They are wonderful, aren’t they? Thanks for coming by.

  6. lynndiane said,

    May 7, 2014 at 3:29 am

    Oh, I like the idea of faith like a willow…strong and flexible, healing, sheltering…such a wonderful image!

  7. May 7, 2014 at 4:13 am

    Shanyn, this is a WONDERFUL poem. I love willow trees too. And love you saying your faith can be like a willow – strong and flexible…..

    • shanyns said,

      May 7, 2014 at 9:10 pm

      I pray for it to be that way, 🙂 So pleased you liked this so much!

  8. vandana said,

    May 7, 2014 at 7:36 am

    A beautiful and refreshing poem, like it very much!!!

  9. MarinaSofia said,

    May 7, 2014 at 9:50 am

    I think a willow is the life for me, too. Beautiful, charming, amusing and… thought-provoking.

  10. Sumana Roy said,

    May 7, 2014 at 10:22 am

    this is a beautiful poem with so many connections…love the beginning as well with a neat style…

    • shanyns said,

      May 7, 2014 at 9:11 pm

      Thank you 🙂 I appreciate it, and am glad you stopped by.

  11. Mary said,

    May 7, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    Beautiful! I have a fondness for willow trees as well, probably due to some wonderful childhood memories. I like the idea of having faith like a willow tree…strong, healing, flexible, etc. Great metaphor.

    • shanyns said,

      May 7, 2014 at 9:12 pm

      Thanks Mary! Willows are so much fun with their low branches and silvery leaves.

  12. Glenn Buttkus said,

    May 7, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    Your faith seems to be a willow already, as is part of your poetic artistic spirit. Nice use of the prompt. Been retired for a while now, but I do remember the days at the office, that somehow I would squeeze in time to write first drafts of poems.

    • shanyns said,

      May 7, 2014 at 9:13 pm

      Well thank you my friend. I appreciate that so very much! 🙂

  13. May 7, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    Interesting.. the willow strength, it’s said to be that of a geisha.. I like that… bending but never breaking…

    • shanyns said,

      May 7, 2014 at 9:13 pm

      I didn’t know that – but I can see how that would make sense. Cool how the willow crosses cultures and yet remains strongly true to what it is.

  14. Gabriella said,

    May 7, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    I like the idea of faith being ‘like a willow’. You have given us food for thought.

  15. kelly said,

    May 8, 2014 at 12:30 am

    This is lovely… there is so much strength in resiliency, and a willow is always such a beautiful tree.

  16. May 8, 2014 at 9:56 am

    I love your personification of the willow as a female tree – that’s what I always thought, well before Willow was used as a girl’s name. And they are beautiful trees.

    • shanyns said,

      May 13, 2014 at 5:13 pm

      They are truly beautiful! I love them…glad you enjoyed the poetry!

  17. Bryan Ens said,

    May 8, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Faith like a willow tree is a very cool analogy. Deeply rooted faith that grows stronger through adversity…I want that too!

  18. claudia said,

    May 8, 2014 at 5:35 pm

    yeah – the willow probably would be my tree of choice as well… i like all the symbolism that you wove in here as well shanyn

  19. May 8, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Wonderful thoughts and beautiful writing. 🙂

  20. CC Champagne said,

    May 8, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    I’m not at all surprised to read a poem like this by you, Shanyns! You are so close with Mother Nature and it shines through in your words. Love it!

    • shanyns said,

      May 13, 2014 at 5:12 pm

      Why thank you! It’s been a while, glad you stopped by!


Leave a Reply

