Seeds, weeds and geraniums

I

Belly to the soil, fingers in the trough.

Depth and rates to check. Seeds in soil.

Each row rises, orderly and only the

weeds run wild. Taunting. Surviving.

 

II

No weeds dare grow in her gardens.

Fierce with knife, spoon and spade.

Grandma grew flowers, vegs and fruit.

Weeds were banished from her order.

 

III

She hated to see them die in fall.

The geraniums in her random pots.

So in they came, Scraggly. Stinky.

Living in a year round summer.

 

IV

“Can’t you just….?’ they asked knowing.

Knowing the blank would be always that.

“Just be tame?” or “Just be unlike me?”

I’m sure I’ll always be a weed there,

tossing out the order of someone’s

beloved garden. A dandelion blooming

through cement cracks, a sunflower

in the highway median. Something not

quite right, not really belonging there

and yet thriving where you said I would

die…or where you wanted me to not be.

`

V

Seeding requires faith. You gotta let em grow.

No diggin’ them up to see ‘wassup’ when in

the soil they are restin’ dark and moist.

 

Seeding requires patience. You gotta let them go.

No foolin’ with them once they start to come up

trusting their roots and their leaves to reach.

 

Seeding has one hand in the soil and one eye

on the sky…prayers of hope rise up and

tears sometimes wash the dirt back down.

 

But when they rise up, tall and reaching

for the sun’s light to follow, then we see

what the hard work of faith can show!

 

I am hosting Poetics tonight for dVerse and I’m feeling in the mood for some short stuff…enjoy the other poetry, and plant those words and poems people!

 

Learning how to check the seeds close up!

Learning how to check the seeds close up!

23 Comments

  1. June 3, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    I just love this, Shanyn. Living close to the earth as you do is such a grace-filled occupation…no, vocation. Sacred work. My last few posts have been written after days of gardening. It is such a teacher. Gotta love grandma. Made me think of my grandpa and his unending battle with gophers. He plant that vegetable garden every year and every year…well, you know the rest.

  2. June 3, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    Living in such close proximity to nature is indeed a blessing.

  3. kelly said,

    June 3, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    I love the touch of your grandmother here, bringing memories out into the light to grow. And this is so filled with truth, all of it. Gardening teaches us so many things, faith and patience most of all.

  4. Grace said,

    June 3, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    I wish weeds can easily be banished in the garden but they thrive for a reason, smiles ~ I specially love that V part – to have faith, patience and trust in those seeds ~

  5. Glenn Buttkus said,

    June 3, 2014 at 11:57 pm

    Wow, some Steinbeckian moments, some Whitman wisdom, & your “Self”, farmer, earth mother, poet; a terrific illustration of what you’re looking for with the prompt.

  6. brian miller said,

    June 4, 2014 at 12:42 am

    it is interesting the care that goes in…getting belly to the earth…love the dandelion though, finding its way where no one expected it…and ht metaphor of it as well…

    there is a great poem by tupac on that:

    http://allpoetry.com/poem/8574649-The-Rose-That-Grew-From-Concrete-by-Tupac-Shakur

  7. ayala said,

    June 4, 2014 at 12:44 am

    I love this! Thanks for hosting.

  8. June 4, 2014 at 2:04 am

    Weeds thrive and gradually starve other plants out. I think an analogy can be drawn to humans.We seem to take better care of our gardens than we do people.

  9. Mary said,

    June 4, 2014 at 2:34 am

    Oh, I really liked your FIFTH set, Shanyn. Yes, sometimes faith..as seeding…is hard work, but it really pays off in the end.

  10. June 4, 2014 at 2:38 am

    I knew you would do it right here. the different angles of sowing.. (though I loved the weed – part the best — sometimes I feel like a sunflower on the highway median) … really good

  11. claudia said,

    June 4, 2014 at 3:51 am

    nice collection of seeding poems here… really enjoyed them all.. IV though grabbed my heart esp. – it’s so sad if someone feels so out of place and not accepted… and often those who are a bit “different” add so much to a community or family

  12. June 4, 2014 at 4:53 am

    I love the idea of something thriving where you’re not supposed to be… standing strong despite all and what makes a weed anyway…some weeds a rather beautiful! Very much enjoyed!

  13. vandana said,

    June 4, 2014 at 4:57 am

    Lovely poems and we all can spread such hope filled seeds. Thanks for the prompt.

  14. Susan said,

    June 4, 2014 at 5:58 am

    It did seem like Grandmother and God had a special understanding of gardening with everything in its place. I like your lmetaphors of planting seeds and having faith

  15. June 4, 2014 at 7:39 am

    Seeds are such a beautiful metaphor AND REALITY of life…
    so many metaphors it lends to life..
    and so many deaths..
    it can avoid..
    given
    time and ReAlly strong faith..
    moreover belief in seeded
    ways..to come alive again!
    as phoenix seed..
    perhaps..:)
    a GaINONE!

  16. MarinaSofia said,

    June 4, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    That’s what I call really close examination of seeds… great picture!
    Such great observations too: You gotta let them go… One hand in the soil and one eye in the sky… being at the mercy of time and weather… learning to accept whatever happens.

  17. June 4, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    Thank you so much for the prompt you hosted Shanyns. Now that I’ve come to your blog I know entirely we were meant to connect in some destiny kind of way. I have this process I’ve been working on to use poetry as an evocation to affect change in the world. (check out a recent series on my blog in the month of May in my poetic laboratory experiment #1002.) It fascinates me that the opportunity to write a chant on this topic came out of left field from your prompt, (I’ve never written or shown the poetry to any group before) I had been working on a different piece yesterday when I got an email about writing on the theme of poetry as a word-seed. I gave one link to Dverse, but then set to writing a chant (the second link I gave Dverse) specifically for the prompt because it was so perfect of a setup for me.
    Your prompt, for me at least, feels like a response to that poetic evocation I wrote around the topic of Sacred Mountain a week or so ago I feel like it moved/is moving some energy that has rippled into the manifestation of both the prompt and this piece.
    The experimentation I was doing before your prompt on the topic of “Sacred Mountain” was specifically targeting manifesting a powerful-force-for-Earth iteration of Monsanto. My process was this: I deliberately hooked personal emotional fuel up to three poetic articulations engaged to swing (like a pendulum) a conversation from a place/space something stands now to where I desire to be. I believe engaging emotional power in this manner with words sends some kind of toning that is recognized and animates things at a subtle level. I don’t think its magic, I do think synchronicity is heightened because I have deliberately engaged subtle level energies in the first place. I also believe ANYONE can do what I’m doing if they are clear on how the infrastructure is built and understand how to tap their own emotion effectively. That bit there, the tapping one’s own emotion effectively is at the heart of all creation to my way knowing – it’s also what I found to be the most complex to get clear on how to do – because it is so custom to each individual. When I say it’s all about following your inspiration like it is the God that it is…I mean that times a million.
    I take your prompt as evidence of one way energy is being focused and funneled from far flung I wouldn’t even know to reach out and touch til they reached out and touch me. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for that.

  18. Gabriella said,

    June 4, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    I agree that seeding requires faith, literally and figuratively. Sometimes this is hardly perceptible but we need to hang before we can reap the good.

  19. Bryan Ens said,

    June 5, 2014 at 4:48 am

    So true! Seeding requires us to work hard, but the faith aspect is important too, as without God, the seeding would be in vain.

  20. Abhra said,

    June 5, 2014 at 11:56 pm

    “Seeding requires faith. You gotta let em grow.” The best part as I could see. A great write.

  21. Poet Laundry said,

    June 6, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    I really like the honesty in IV and the wisdom in V Shanyn. I got in late to your challenge but thank you for the prompt!

  22. wolfsrosebud said,

    June 7, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    so cool you have that memory… wish my garden was so orderly… gardening is so like writing… don’t you think

  23. lynndiane said,

    June 9, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Oh yes, more than just crops grow from the seeds of faith! Wonderful lessons from seeding here…i like verse IV as it relates to blooming where one is planted even if “different” from the rest…thanks, Shanyn!


Leave a Reply

