Where in the world

Riding the high foothills, cattle beside my horse.

Mountains rising high in a western sky.

Walking on red Maritime sands.

Lobster rolls at the Market.

Listening to Cree voices.

Dancing to country

music all night.

Visiting the

places my

ancestors came

here from. And places

I dream of seeing one day.

But most of all, the place in the

world I most want to be, day or night

is with those I love most. Those to whom

my heart belongs, as well as my smiles and tears.

Those who hold my tight when my faith wavers and

I falter in the road to the place God is preparing for us.

Where I want to be, most in the world, is right here.

In the right now. With them. Laughing. Crying.

Arguing and making up. Working. Playing.

Lego and lightning storms. Horses and

cows, tractors and trucks. Silly games

of tickle and Piggies. Making it up

as we go. The world shrinks and

I don’t mind when it only fits

just us three at a time. It is

okay for it to be our size.

The bigness comes and

out we go into the

noise and crowd.

But home. Home

is where we are.

And that is

Where I

Most

Long

To

Be.

 

Abhra has us thinking about where in the world we’d like to be. And there are many physical places I would love to visit again, and places in time I’d love to experience. But if I had to pack it up and go alone, I’d just as soon stay. With my beloved husband and sweet son. Together, wherever that is, is where I most want to be.   Join the other poets who probably took you on a more literal journey by clicking here: dVerse Poets 

13 Comments

  1. brian miller said,

    June 18, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    smiles…been playing a bit of lego this summer…ha.
    its the people that make the place…as much as the place making the people at times as well…the where though matters as little as the who…

  2. Glenn Buttkus said,

    June 18, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    Travel does stretch our soul-vision, but home from the hill, hearth & home, as you are making a new space for you & the family now, it makes perfect sense that will be your focus for a while.

  3. kaykuala said,

    June 18, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    Home is where the heart is! A cliche much used but reality no doubt. There are lots of fun doing little nothings but with those close to one’s heart! Agreed Shanyn and great format used!

    Hank

  4. billgncs said,

    June 18, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    the old saying is love builds a home – and it sounds like you have chosen the proper material.

  5. June 19, 2014 at 2:00 am

    I love the lines –
    The world shrinks and
    I don’t mind when it only fits
    just us three at a time. It is
    okay for it to be our size.
    wonderful – K

  6. Imelda said,

    June 19, 2014 at 4:30 am

    How true – there is no place like home. 🙂

  7. Abhra said,

    June 19, 2014 at 7:53 am

    True – the way you make us travel and come back to our most precious is beautiful – yes of course, there is no better place than home.

  8. June 19, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Of course — the question is not where you want to be — but with whom … that’s the place.

  9. Jennifer G. Knoblock said,

    June 19, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    I really like the shape of this–the expansion and contraction, just like our life journeys.

  10. Sumana Roy said,

    June 19, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    I love the layout of the poem slowly coming down to home where the heart is….beautiful

  11. lynndiane said,

    June 24, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    thank you, shanyns, for reminding us where the heart belongs… where we can be ourselves, loved and content…warm thoughts expressed here.

  12. July 4, 2014 at 5:50 am

    Ah! That is lovely. Your world sometimes being the size of you and your family is a beautiful expression. I really like it. Sweet and wonderful. 🙂

  13. August 5, 2014 at 1:03 am

    Aw, this was an extremely nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to create a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate
    a lot and don’t seem to get nearly anything done.


Leave a Reply

