Blurred Hindsight

_DSC0133.NEF

When you get to this place you’ll know.

The lie of 20/20 hindsight vision.

Looking back the lines are blurred.

I can see you there, what is the year?

Such a fine balancing needed.

You can’t change the past if you

want to be who you have become.

And what a woman you are!

Those wounds they healed.

The scars started to ache less.

The joy lines never got deeper.

But your eyes sparkle so bright.

Looking out the window at the now,

I wish you could see how the wait.

THE WAIT you hated so is over.

You learned to serve in love.

Stayed true to the little gardens

you grew in the small places.

Those seeds now wildly bloom

here. There. EVERYWHERE!

You never knew. Had no clue.

That those things you seeded

along the path, they didn’t die.

They grew. Out of stone. In the sun.

From the dryness they found life.

Drove their roots down deep

past the dry season and found

an endless well of faith, filled.

EVERY time you wanted to quit.

You didn’t. Could have. But no.

Stubborn you, kept going,

If you could only see it now.

Even blurred looking back.

The amazing wild path

you trod. You sowed.

Hindsight may be blurred

and less than perfectly

20/20 is a lie, but the heart

it knows the truth. Wildflowers

bloom where it is wild, weeds

are only labeled by mis-location.

A letter from the future would be grand, giving me some encouragement during the times when the path seems harder, more barren than I’d like. Faith keeps me going forward when I can only see one step at a time, and I firmly believe that changing the past would change me, perhaps enough that I couldn’t be the person I am today. And today I love who I am. I am blessed beyond measure with my husband and my son, our family and friends. I wouldn’t change a thing that happened because it all made me who I am today. HOWEVER! I wouldn’t get in line for a repeat for some things either…ha ha

Check out the other great poets who are sharing at dVerse!

29 Comments

  1. February 18, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    So love this letter – I relate to so much of your beautiful poem and the final lines are a joy to read – thanks for sharing this!

    • shanyns said,

      February 18, 2015 at 7:14 pm

      Thanks for coming by, and for sharing your thoughts. So pleased you enjoyed it.

  2. Daydreamer said,

    February 18, 2015 at 4:53 pm

    Beautifully written.

  3. February 18, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    I love this one…Shanyn especially staying faithful to the little gardens, wow! This is a beautiful affirming sermon, without the preaching!

    • shanyns said,

      February 18, 2015 at 7:15 pm

      Ah thanks Dawn! Your words are so sweet. Thanks for coming by!

  4. brian miller said,

    February 18, 2015 at 5:12 pm

    written like a true farmer….learning the wait…the planting…that one day will grow….the perseverence for that future date…

    • shanyns said,

      February 18, 2015 at 7:16 pm

      Thanks Brian. Yes…learning the wait, it is a tricky but so necessary.

  5. Grace said,

    February 18, 2015 at 6:09 pm

    I love the idea of seeds bearing fruits and trees and wildflowers everywhere ~ The future looks hopeful and bright ~ thanks for joining in shanyn ~

    • shanyns said,

      February 18, 2015 at 7:16 pm

      Thanks Grace! 🙂 So glad I could join in, what fun!

  6. February 18, 2015 at 6:24 pm

    I love the farming aspect you gave with life lessons that anyone could relate to.

  7. Kathy Reed said,

    February 18, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    ….seeds tossed about anywhere might grow…they need a little help along the way besides just good soil and sun and rain..we need to cultivate so they will propagate more

    • shanyns said,

      February 18, 2015 at 7:17 pm

      So true…and sometimes the seeds we leave behind grow when we have no idea what we really planted!

  8. February 18, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    True.. one cannot change the past or future if free is part of that solution..:)

  9. February 18, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    Oh I love to sow the seed..and that final line about weed,, so true.

  10. Truedessa said,

    February 19, 2015 at 1:50 am

    Wildflowers bloom where it is wild..that is so true and wildflowers have very strong roots.

    • shanyns said,

      February 22, 2015 at 7:28 pm

      They do indeed, and strong resilient seeds too!

  11. Sumana Roy said,

    February 19, 2015 at 7:21 am

    “here. There. EVERYWHERE!” hey i could see the growth visually..how clever of you to use the fonts this way…great lines…

  12. February 19, 2015 at 8:59 am

    For me, what really pops out is
    “You can’t change the past if you
    want to be who you have become.”
    And makes me wonder, if the letter from the future is also part of the past, or if it is trying to change and make the future even better… Anyway, the letter is motivating and shows that’s bright future is possible. Nice!

    • shanyns said,

      February 22, 2015 at 7:31 pm

      🙂 It is a pondering thing, isn’t it? An encouragement from the future that the past can have meaning, even the things we wish we had missed.

  13. Bryan Ens said,

    February 19, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    Shanyn, a wonderful poem of acceptance…even of past hurts. I sometimes wonder who I would be today if there were small changes here or there in my past, but God DOES have a plan for us…even when we can’t see what the future may hold.

  14. vidyatiru said,

    February 19, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    seeds sown everywhere… that sounds wonderful.. my future, like yours, has hope too …and like adriana mentioned, the lines that stand out for me – “You can’t change the past if you
    want to be who you have become.”

  15. claudia said,

    February 23, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    who we are is surely a mix of what we went through… and some things… even when they’re tough when they happen make us the person we are…and in hindsight become precious


Leave a Reply

