Six by Twelve

Who am I? What words say the most about me?

Faith for without it each day would be a walk of darkness.

Grace that which we get, and must give, freely. As it was given.

Offbalanceweirdgeekystrangefunrulebreakingsinginglaughingsoftietoughie – it is one word if you don’t have spaces!

Seriously though, passionate, could be one. In love. In life. In all all. Live at the edge of your veins.*

Without those things I wouldn’t have the means or desire to be as thankful as I am.

For understanding deeply that the most important things in life are, indeed, not things at all.

They are son and husband. Loved. Beloved. Cherished. Treasured. Laughed with. Prayed over.

So thankful for the ups, downs, insides and outsides that make up this crazy mi vida locaLife.

As my husband so eloquently prays, “Thank you, Lord, for the blessings in our lives.

For the things that make us better people, and for the things that pass us by.”

Amen.

13 Comments

  1. I. said,

    July 14, 2015 at 11:51 pm

    This is a smart prayer: “For the things that make us better people, and for the things that pass us by.”

  2. Glenn Buttkus said,

    July 15, 2015 at 12:58 am

    Wow, it is so good to come across your name on the list, & your poetic spiritual soul out here on the dVerse trail. I miss seeing your work more often, but I treasure the attention you shower me with on FB; I love how you did a run-on word, & extended lines to bend the parameters of the prompt to your creative will. When I use my camera these days I think of you as well, for I’m grateful every time you like or share one of my photos. Hugs to you & yours. Hey, I might be #1.

  3. Glenn Buttkus said,

    July 15, 2015 at 12:58 am

    Heck, no, so I’ll just take my place in line; smile.

  4. Sanaa Rizvi said,

    July 15, 2015 at 1:00 am

    Such a beautiful & heartfelt piece 🙂

  5. kanzensakura said,

    July 15, 2015 at 1:48 am

    That runon word – I am so enjoying it!!!! And the prayer – yes, a most wondrous prayer. Grace, love, beloved…..I had to read this one thrice for it just got better every time.

  6. Polly said,

    July 15, 2015 at 4:13 am

    Loving the run-on word 😉

  7. July 15, 2015 at 7:23 am

    Oh.. just IMAGINE all it takes
    to bring us to this living breathing
    point of now.. the STRUGGLES
    of ANCESTORS to BRUTISH
    YOUNG death.. a stock
    of survival is wHere we
    come.. and PASSION
    for that is worth
    a Praise
    of
    Now..:)

  8. MarinaSofia said,

    July 15, 2015 at 10:53 am

    I miss you too, my dear, so glad you could join us this time! Must be busy season now for you. I love your passion and that made-up fun squished together word illustrates it perfectly!

  9. billgncs said,

    July 15, 2015 at 6:50 pm

    you have named good things.

  10. July 15, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    Faith and grace are two wonderful words to describe you. And I love your one long word, without spaces. Surely if the ridiculous and nonsensical supercalifragilisticexpealidocious is a word, then yours is a word. Peace, Linda

  11. July 15, 2015 at 9:50 pm

    Oh, I’ve missed you Shanyn! Your husband’s prayer says it all–as does your poem. Love your creativity with unspaced words.

  12. lynn__ said,

    July 16, 2015 at 9:39 am

    Glad to see you again, Shanyn, with a happy poem for dVerse anniversary!

  13. C.C. said,

    July 16, 2015 at 11:41 pm

    “Live at the edge of your veins”—that’s thought-provoking! Love your run-on word, too 🙂


Leave a Reply

