Unpaved Roads

_DSC0035.NEF

I believe I’ve been on the road for a million miles.

Does it show? I wonder about the wear and tear.

1 lane, two lane, three, four, five. Freeway. Highway.

NO WAY! Don’t go THAT WAY! 

Flat top. Crowned gravel. Seasonal dirt. Grassy track.

The road less traveled is the one to take…

Passing lane – never enough. Slow lane – baugh!

…and yet if they take it all we’ll have to seek another.

Fast lane. Hammer down. Buck sixty. Po po gotta go.

I prefer the gravel road. Fields and old telephone poles.

People all have to pitter patter, get atter.

Slow down. It surely is the journey that is best.

Waiting for the school bus. Grader. Tractor.

Seeing the eagle. Owl. BEAR! Deer. Slowing down.

Always in such a rush. Blank look when they HIT.

No crosswalks for critters or old farmers. They just go.

NowaymanitcameOUTTAnowhere. BANG. Blame.

Slow it down. See what God put there to see. Yes. That.

I have to make it on time but I won’t rush this.

The journey isn’t about gas milage. Or time. It just is.

See what everyone else has missed in their rush.

I see the best things on slower, unpaved roads.

The only screen is the ‘windscreen’ and wow!

Can you see what I see? Slow down, roll the window down.

Be late every now and again catching jet streams.

I love the open road. The mountains. The prairie. Foothills.

Gotta rush. Gotta go. Get there. Get back.

Memories are made of stuff that moves slow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Coming back to dVerse for the first time in a LONG time. Did you miss me? I surely missed you. Hope you don’t mind my rambling take on the Tuesday Poetics prompt. 

25 Comments

  1. Grace said,

    March 2, 2016 at 2:49 am

    Love that ending line ~ Of course we miss you Shanyn ~ My favorite part is also this:

    see the best things on slower, unpaved roads.

    Hope you are well ~

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2016 at 8:42 pm

      I am well, thanks Grace. It is nice to be back – and have actually caught a prompt before the linky expired. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it. Did you spy my owl in the pic?

  2. Candy said,

    March 2, 2016 at 4:40 am

    I agrr with Grace – that last line is superb. loved going on a ramble with you.

  3. March 2, 2016 at 5:26 am

    So great to have you here.. We do spend a lot of time on those roads don’t we… Just wish it could go slower sometimes…

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2016 at 8:43 pm

      Glad to be back! And yes slower would be good. Walking or riding a horse works for me as well as touring in my pick up truck.

  4. Bodhirose said,

    March 2, 2016 at 6:00 am

    This was really fun to read, Shanyn, and nice to have you back at dVerse. Like you, I would enjoy the journey a lot better if people would just SLOW DOWN! It’s not going to happen though is it?

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2016 at 8:44 pm

      Thanks for the welcome back. And as much as I’d like them to even go something close to the speed limit, people seem to be in a hurry even if they don’t know why.

      • Bodhirose said,

        March 2, 2016 at 10:15 pm

        That’s the interesting/maddening part…people don’t even know why they’re in a hurry. And, people who race all around don’t seem to get anywhere much faster anyway. Don’t you always pull up to people at lights that raced like crazy to get there? Nuts!

  5. March 2, 2016 at 4:09 pm

    This is frantic on the road stuff which we all know about! Very well expressed and I like the idea of memories being made of ‘move slow’.

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2016 at 8:45 pm

      🙂 I like the move slow memories. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Sanaa Rizvi said,

    March 2, 2016 at 4:25 pm

    Slow down. It surely is the journey that is best.

    Beautifully wise… 🙂

  7. Doug French said,

    March 2, 2016 at 4:32 pm

    Easier to write it than live it. . . . both being difficult just the same. Food for thought and reflection for sure. . . .

  8. Bryan Ens said,

    March 2, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    Nice to see you back! Yes, have noticed your absence. I have found, too, that the slow trip down the grid roads is often so much more fulfilling than the rush down the highway.

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2016 at 8:46 pm

      Grid roads, and south of Regina where there aren’t any poles anymore it seems endlessly open! Great for moose. 🙂 Glad to be back.

  9. kanzensakura said,

    March 2, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    I am a rambler ambler from ‘way back. I like this trip of moving slow. The first and last lines are amazing.

  10. Glenn Buttkus said,

    March 2, 2016 at 7:05 pm

    The second voice resonates with me, unless I’ve taken so much time sight-seeing & I need to make 200 miles in 2.5 hours. Around here, in my SUV, it’s the forest service roads that dazzle me within our two mountain ranges; living near 5 volcanos that mesmerize.

    • shanyns said,

      March 2, 2016 at 8:48 pm

      Forest roads are great for touring, and I lament those days when I have to get so many things done and I can’t slow down. I try to make up for it but it seems something is forever lost. Five volcanoes? OH MAN!

  11. March 2, 2016 at 9:45 pm

    “I prefer the gravel road. Fields and old telephone poles.” right there with ya

  12. March 2, 2016 at 11:11 pm

    “I see the best things on slower, unpaved roads.” so true. And the sound of a gravel road. and the windows rolled down. No time frame. THAT is a vacation, a journey!

  13. Ayala said,

    March 3, 2016 at 1:03 am

    Nice piece, great ending line.

  14. March 3, 2016 at 11:25 pm

    I enjoyed the interjection in the alternating lines. I would go out of my way for unpaved roads…and I liked your “rambling take” on the prompt! 🙂

  15. March 9, 2016 at 10:45 pm

    SMiLes my friend..
    the Interstate.. a microcosm
    iN itSelf of American Culture..
    move fast straight ahead..
    but Culture even more
    confusing..
    as multi
    task
    all at
    one time
    moving faster
    than ever before..
    it’s amazing what one
    can do.. if they move at
    tHeir own speed.. fast
    or slow.. Free
    to go wherever
    wonder and
    wander
    lust takes
    them free
    iN endless
    twiliGht now
    and morning
    stars.. oF bright LiGht..
    oh! to reTire FOR LIFE..
    wheRe the rubber once
    more feels
    the cold
    wheels
    of life
    FULL.. WARM..
    funny how some
    folks never ever learn to
    even
    live
    now..
    lesson of
    RE-TIRE..
    SMiLinG GOlden
    Years younger
    iN SpiRit
    than
    even
    imaginable
    after age 5..
    wHere school
    and work takes
    ALL THAT’S REAL AWAY..
    AND really that’s all that
    YeShUa was saying
    before
    Interstate
    humans
    made
    him
    into
    an only God..
    sad sad sad.. Interstate
    humans with no tires..:)


Leave a Reply

