Red – poem with friends

 

Red! Red! They call me red, but only once!

Redhead, redhead are you really red?

Red, red they call me red, the kid’s book said.

 

Red blazer, red roses, red blood of Christ in a cup.

Red candy, lipstick and rubies richly adorning.

Red skies, chilly day red cheeks better bundle up.

 

Berries ripe and red, straw and rasp eat ‘em up!

Red cardinal cries, red sweater tangles.

Red river floods, red eyes cry for Cherry the pup.

 

Ribbons, peppers, and a robin’s breast – counting up

The shades and shapes of red we see, are you?

Naughty Red Ridinghood, taking to granny a sup.

 

Fall leaves colored red, hands a ripe apple cup.

Chapped red lips from the cold, warmed with kisses.

Red hot sauce on red chili beans, that’ll heat you up.

 

Shiny berries red, soft beard and a big red suit,

Wrapped gifts, tags and ornaments on a tree.

Treats for all red velvet cake, licorice eat ‘em up!

 

Most vivid red saved for poppies, blood and tears.

Most hoped for red of farmer boy and man tractor!

Most precious red the one we are washed in.

 

Red the color of life, the color of passion, the color

Of my new computer, phone and camera too.

Redheaded women, dogs and  birds boldly go for we are red!

 

2011 Copyright Shanyn Silinski

Important note: I asked my friends and family on Facebook to share their favorite ‘red’ things, and I compiled them into this poem. I couldn’t have done it without them and I share any praise for this work with them. Love you all!

23 Comments

  1. September 30, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    amazing when you think about it exactly how much there is of red~!
    A good write from you. 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      Thank you…it was fun to do with my friends, and I’m so glad you stopped by!

  2. Other Mary said,

    September 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Nice catalog of reds!

  3. marlene said,

    September 30, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    It takes talent & smarts to put together ‘red things’ into a poem!
    don’t mess with Shanyn’s imagination as will write into a poem or story.

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      Marlene – thank you! Great to see you stopping by. 🙂 Love your comment!

  4. Okelle said,

    September 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Very interesting catalog! Have you ever considered writing a poem that re-tells the Red Riding Hood story? Anne Sexton has a fabulous collection of re-purposed fairy tales called _Transformations_. Here’s my favorite — the Rapunzel story:

    http://plagiarist.com/poetry/8030/

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 7:02 pm

      What a neat idea, Frances. I may think about doing that, thanks for coming by, leaving your thoughts (and great idea) and the link too!

  5. Ella said,

    September 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I love your list, fun to read! I’m married to a redhead~

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 7:03 pm

      Aren’t we redheads fun? 🙂 Thanks for coming by, great o see you here!

  6. September 30, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    What a wonderful idea, Shanyn.

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 7:42 pm

      Thanks Kerry! It was a lot of fun too! Thanks for stopping by.

  7. September 30, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Love this, Shanyn – I can so relate. I’m surprised at home much red I use in my home (red plates, red rug, red accessories). It’s a happy color 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      Debbie – thanks for coming by. It is a happy color, isn’t it? I love red!

  8. jenneandrews said,

    September 30, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Your poems always take unexpected little sidetrips into things only you see with the particularity and beauty of your vision– now I want to write about my red dress and shoes for junior prom..xxxxj

    • shanyns said,

      September 30, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      Jenne – I’m so happy to see you here! Yes, you’ve described me perfectly! I do take a lot of side trips 🙂 Thanks for coming with me! I’m looking forward to the red dress and shoes poem!

  9. Kim Nelson said,

    September 30, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    What a fun read and a great writing exercise, Shanyn. As I read your piece I caught glimpses and moments, some familiar, some not. You seem to have covered nearly every red possible. Well done.

    • shanyns said,

      October 1, 2011 at 12:43 am

      Kim – it was a fun write too! Thanks for coming by!

  10. Morning said,

    October 1, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    delightful take on red.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • shanyns said,

      October 2, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Thanks for coming by, it is great to have you here!

  11. CC Champagne said,

    October 2, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    It’s an amazing poem and a brilliant idea asking friends and family to help! Loved its playfulness!

    • shanyns said,

      October 3, 2011 at 2:23 pm

      Thanks CC, it was a lot of fun! So glad to see you stopping by!

  12. May 24, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    […] Red Poem with Friends […]


Leave a comment