Talk this way

Why do you use such weird words?

Weird words?  Not me! I use words that fit.

How can feeding birds take so long?

Because I have to talk to each one! Photograph them too.

I think not only in pictures you see, but in poetry.

In story and in song. I usually have so much I want to

create in words and images that I don’t have enough hands!

You talk so fast! How do you know all that?

Fast? Maybe you listen so slow? Seriously I space my words.

How do you think of such things?

What things?  Of shapeshifting, cloud dancing, song making?

Or how about quarks, Buckey Balls and nanotech?

I read, I think, I listen and sometimes when the words come

I write songs, poetry and stories.

Your poetry doesn’t really sound like poetry to me.

Cool! Tell me more about that, I want to learn how you think and hear.

No I mean it doesn’t sound like what normal poetry should be.

Oh, like what you learned in school? Or read by Shakespeare and Seuss?

A sonnet can be a bird in flight. A haiku a fence line.

Poetry, when my muse is kind, fills my veins and my soul,

it comes through me, to me, I don’t make it flow.

Can’t you be normal? Like, you know, someone else?

Who? Tell me who and I’ll probably not try.

Well, you know just don’t be SO MUCH YOU.

Oh, that I get. You want a latte version, maybe a half fat or low cal me.

Sorry, no can do. I’m the me you see, I’m the me I am going to be.

Like me or not, it’s you choice you see.  I don’t give a cracker either way.

I’ll still love you and of course I’ll pray but I won’t stop being me, even for thee!

(Was that enough real poetry for you in those last lines? Ah too sarcastic. Not pretty enough. C’est la vie ma cher. C’est la vie.)
 
For dVerse, a conversation about me, as spoken by me, the italics could be anyone of a number of friends and family who love me but do not understand me.  Sometimes mywordsruntogetherandItalkreallyfast but that is slow compared to my thoughts…how about you?

28 Comments

  1. Laurie Kolp said,

    March 3, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    I can definitely see you ‘performing’ this. This cracked me up:

    You want a latte version, maybe a half fat or low cal me.

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      Thanks Laurie! 🙂 I would love to perform this…then I could use all my ‘voices’ ha ha Thanks for coming by!

  2. Zoe said,

    March 3, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Huge smiles…. Fantastic!!!

    Shanyn, this is just great! Loved the latte line. The rhythm was strong, the voice just as strong and oh boy do I hear ya! And any other tune on those lips would sound shrill.. 🙂 Please keep singing in your own, gorgeously unique voice. xxx

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      Blush…thank you Zoe! Your words encourage me greatly my dear! xoxox

  3. Claudia said,

    March 3, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    A sonnet can be a bird in flight. A haiku a fence line…smiles…i like…poetry can be so much and can have so many different faces…this is what i like most about it…and i like that you talk to the birds..smiles

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      Thanks Claudia…I love my birds. They have such wonderful things to share. 🙂 Great that you came by.

  4. brian miller said,

    March 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    smiles…love that latte line, ha…some fun play through out as well…also i am glad the strength as well in not changing who you are just to meet the needs of someone else….it seldom works….def could hear this one being performed…

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2012 at 5:52 pm

      Maybe I’ll have to record it 🙂 Thanks for coming by…great to have you visit.

  5. March 3, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    I hope that’s a cream cracker 😉 Nice conversation going on and yes, if people can’t take us as we are, warts n all, then they can go and take a hike (as far as I’m concerned)
    Nicely said, all of it 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      March 3, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      Thanks 🙂 Great that you enjoyed this and thanks for stopping by.

  6. Ruth said,

    March 5, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    Brilliant! I’ve had this conversation, these questions asked and demands placed on me – love your response

    • shanyns said,

      March 5, 2012 at 5:23 pm

      Ruth – thank you 🙂 This conversation is one I think we’ve all had, and I hope we all have them!

  7. March 5, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    I love “a sonnet can be a bird in flight”…….love the disinterest in being anyone other than YOU. Rock on!

    • shanyns said,

      March 5, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      Sherry – thank you! I am working very hard to keep that true to me attitude…!!

  8. March 5, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    I love this…I could never be the latte version of myself. I would bore myself to death. lol You keep on being you I’m lovin it!

    • shanyns said,

      March 5, 2012 at 5:20 pm

      Susie – ❤ you for that encouragement! You are a sweetie, don't be a latte version ever!

  9. March 5, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    Oh, Shanyn, never be anyone but yourself around us!
    These lines are priceless:

    “You talk so fast! How do you know all that?

    Fast? Maybe you listen so slow?”

    • shanyns said,

      March 5, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Kerry – thank you! 😀 I promise to be only myself with you all, and with everyone!

  10. Marian said,

    March 5, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    love this! poets lite? no thanks!

    • shanyns said,

      March 5, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Marian – thanks so much! 🙂 Great that you stopped by.

  11. Corey Rowley said,

    March 5, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    If this is even a smidgeon of who you are….I like it! What a creative write. Stream of consciousness with a point and purpose. Spoken like the true you you ought to be. Loved this alot.

    • shanyns said,

      March 6, 2012 at 2:57 am

      Corey – 🙂 why thank you! My husband says if someone wants to know what I am like they should read my poetry, so this is a great compliment! So glad you stopped by! 🙂

  12. March 5, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    Shanyn, it’s wonderful. I’m glad you’re so you.
    Isn’t it sad, though, for someone to try to be someone else, just because another someone wants it?
    Great stuff!
    K

    • shanyns said,

      March 6, 2012 at 2:56 am

      Kay – you are so right. We end up being so much less when we try to be someone we are not! Great to see you stop by.

  13. Heaven said,

    March 5, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    I like this…I think you should always be yourself…you can definitely write poetry ~

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.com/2012/03/what-i-want-to-do-to-you.html

    • shanyns said,

      March 6, 2012 at 2:56 am

      Aren’t you sweet! Thank you so much, and I appreciate your encouragement! 🙂

  14. kateri said,

    March 6, 2012 at 3:09 am

    Love the dialog about poetry not sounding like poetry..I sometimes have a dialog with myself that runs along a similar vein. 🙂

    • shanyns said,

      March 6, 2012 at 4:49 am

      Kateri – isnt’ that cool when we can do that? I love it! So great that you stopped by. 🙂 See you again?


Leave a comment