Not lonely

I am not afraid of being alone.
I am not afraid of feeling lonely.
The feeling isn’t fear, or worry.
It’s the feeling I might get too
comfortable with solitude, with
the quiet and order of it all.

I am not afraid of being alone.
I’m not afraid of feeling lonely.
It feels like spring breaking free
from the shackles and barren
branches of winter trees.

I am ready for the wild beauty
I am ready for the riot of bird song.
It feels like I am ready for another
adventure with a new soundtrack
of sounds I was too busy to hear.

I am wondering at the small things.
I am in awe of the little noticed.
It feels like finding a song I had
forgotten but the words were
always in my mouth waiting.

I am not afraid of being alone.
I am not afraid of being lonely.
I am looking forward to meeting
the woman I am becoming
in this new season of me.

Leave a comment